Tony Gemignani with the Pizza Bible

Tony Gemignani with the Pizza Bible

True story. Tony Gemignani and his wife, Julie are visiting Honolulu for the first time. We want to take them to lunch to one of our favorite restaurants.
I’m thinking an upscale sushi place or maybe seafood dim sum. Something special.

“What do you want for lunch?” I ask.

Without batting an eye, “pizza” he states with a grin. And that is exactly what we ate.

Tony Gemignani thinks about pizza all the time. He lives pizza. He honors pizza. And now he has put all of that knowledge and passion into a book about pizza called The Pizza Bible

The  is an extraordinary book which shares his passion and desire about teaching you to make incredible pizza. This book describes in detail how to recreate many different types of regional styles in your own kitchen. As you may know there are a number of different regional styles of pizza in the United States. While certainly a melting pot for many ethnic dishes, the United States has allowed pizza to be cultivated and influenced by region. And Tony takes the best of each region showing you how to create that particular pizza.

With this book Tony has raised the bar in teaching how to make great pizza. As Tony explains, this book is less about actual recipes and “more about inspiring people to master the craft of pizza.” And he takes these words to heart or more precisely as the tattoos on his hands state simply: “Respect the craft”.

Tony's Pizza

Tony’s Pizza

Tony gives you the tools you need and the ingredients necessary. As any professional chef will tell you a scale is essential to get the exact weights of ingredients. You can keep your measuring spoons in the drawer. He starts with an equipment check list and then moves into the Master Class Shopping list. He goes into detail on the rationale about using particular tools and ingredients.

Pizza maker be warned: the path to pizza perfection takes effort. As with all crafts you wish to master you must be dedicated and tenacious. And Tony is a task master. He insists you read the first 19 pages before you try a single recipe. His notion is to teach you, then inspire you to create memorable pizzeria style pizza. He provides the steps involved and wants you to share his vision of creating pizzeria quality pizza in your own home.

You won’t do this by obtaining ordinary pizza ingredients or tools. Tony guides you as he would the pizzaioli he mentors at his pizza school or at his rare quality driven, pizza workshops. He encourages you to master each step along the way. He takes you through the techniques of his Master Class. The best part is that you are sitting right in the front row!

There are no short cuts here. As he testifies, anyone can follow a recipe and make reasonable pizza, but if you want to make authentic pizzeria style pizza, you need to follow his lead. And he takes you to pizza possibilities you never imagined. Pizza paradise, if you will. He is with you each phase along the way.

Tony making pizza.

Tony making pizza.

His go-to-flour list is a massive inventory of flours needed to create different types of pizzas. The flours range from Harvest King, to King Arthur’s Sir Lancelot and his own Tony’s California flour. He describes each one giving the protein percentage and why it should be used. And he shares the theory of pizza relativity. Simply stated that means making your pizza the best it can by adding touches and variation that will improve the experience. While he is an expert, Tony realizes there needs to be adjustments and flexibility in creating pizza. He gives you his framework for pizza nirvana and it up to you to become your own pizza master.

“Tony’s Ten Commandments of Pizza” are his must follow rules for pizza perfection. The commandments will help keep you grounded and on task as you go through all of the recipes.

Tony takes you on an unprecedented pizza journey in teaching you, how to create various styles of regional pizza.  He shares New York, and New Haven. He gives Chicago Deep dish lessons as well as  how to make Detroit and St. Louis pizza. In addition he gives many pizza secrets for making California Style, Regional Italian, and grilled pizza. Tony has also included a section on focaccia and bread. Tony shares a wealth of pizza knowledge.

Tony Gemignani has accomplished his mission with The Pizza Bible. As Tony explained to me: “I put everything I know about pizza into this book.”

If you ever wanted to make pizza like a pizzeria, this book is for you. If you are looking for the inside secrets about pizza, you have just opened the magic doors of pizza knowledge.

As Peter Reinhart once explained to me, there are two types of pizza: good pizza and great pizza. The same can be said about pizza books. The Pizza Bible
is a great pizza book.

Check out it out here: The Pizza Bible


58 Comments

Joel LaRocco · November 23, 2014 at 2:41 am

Tony you are the Michael Angelo of pizza. Your your tube videos and arrival on Pizza Therapy shows your love to Respect the Craft. # 1 on my bucket list is to meet you and eat at your pizzeria. Keep the love alive!

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:23 am

    Great words Joel! I know you will meet Tony one day. I’ve had his pizzas and they are amazing!

Dennis Wojcik · November 23, 2014 at 3:03 am

If you wish to learn about the art of creating pizza, study from one who lives and breaths the path. Respect the Craft.

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:23 am

    Thanks for this Dennis!

Nate · November 23, 2014 at 3:09 am

Respect the craft.

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:24 am

    How true Nate!

Ignacio D. · November 23, 2014 at 3:09 am

I can’t wait to read this! I started off with Albert G’s blog wen I ventured into making my own pizza and I’ve started experimenting with wheat dough and I really could use a book like this since I’m having difficulties with thickness. Respect the craft!

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:25 am

    Ignacio, I know your pizza will just get better and better!

Mitch 'Pizza Man' Cameron · November 23, 2014 at 3:48 am

Above All, “Respect The Craft…!”
I’m working out plans for a stone pizza oven for pizza, artisan breads, calzones, and other bakes niceties. There is NOTHING better than a wood-fired pizza – especially for home entertainment! I’ve always loved meat pizzas, but over recent years, I’m leaning to lesser amounts of meat like sausage and peperoni, and using more onions, mushrooms, jalapenos, various cheeses, olives, artichoke hearts, and other great variations.
Truthfully, I’ve never met a pizza I didn’t like, but I’ve never thought that there was no room for improvement. The ‘Pizza Bible’ would be a great first – and last step!
Pizza On!
Mitch

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:26 am

    Mitch, this is true. A wood fired oven really takes pizza to a whole new level. Thanks for your insight.

Brett Curtiz · November 23, 2014 at 4:14 am

Love the book, eat the pizza,Respect the Craft and say Hi to your mum for me !

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:27 am

    Mum says “hi” back! The Pizza Bible is a great book!

FRED URSO · November 23, 2014 at 4:36 am

Tony once again a great accomplishment, your dedication and inspirations with pizza is what keeps us going strong and to Respect the Craft hope to see you and Albert at the upcoming pizza expo in Vegas.

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:29 am

    Fred, I’ll be at Pizza Expo 2015 and I can’t wait! I’m looking forward to seeing you as well. Plus Tony will be there presenting his Pizza Work Shops.

Rick Bender · November 23, 2014 at 5:40 am

Ya gotta “Respect The Craft”!

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:30 am

    Rick: Right on! You gotta Respect the Craft!

Will Verret · November 23, 2014 at 5:46 am

If you’re gonna putz around with pizza, this book probably isn’t for you. But if you are going the extra mile, striving for pizza perfection and you Respect the Craft, then this book is definitely a MUST HAVE!

Pizza is perfection! Wood-fired-pizza ovens are perfection squared!!! LOL

Kajun

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:31 am

    Thanks for you sentiments, Rick. Excellent advice

NY JP · November 23, 2014 at 7:29 am

Above ALL “Respect the Craft”.
Im a Ny from Queens near flushing meadow park and the new Mets or Shea stadium.
Im Traditional, I only like NY Pizza and Sicilian Pizza.
In NY Most Pizza Places sell pizza and Italian Ice.
Some of my favs, Nu Yalk pizza in Reno Nevada sells Pizza and Sicilian and Canolis, Escape from New York Portland Oregon, Slice of New York Minneapolis Mn, Pagliacci. Pizza and Piecoras Pizza in Seattle Washington.
My Cons, Im sorry but I did not like Vancouver Canada Best Gourmet Pizza on Robson Street, I mean come on asparagus broccoli and cauliflower Pizza i think it also had anchovies.
Then there is this XXX in Nanaimo BC on Vancouver Island who advertises New York Style Pizza.
All you have to do is look at it and you know its not NY Pizza. I told him that’s not NY Pizza and that is false advertisement. Somebody please teach him how to make real good Delicious New York Pizza.
He is ripping off the customers.
In Canada where there is no New York Style Pizza you can eat at Bella Pizza Montreal style pizza its not bad or you are forced to eat at XXX or XXX.
Costco Pizza in CANADA Is awful, its really bad.
But anywhere there is no New York Pizza try Costco Pizza anywhere in the states, Washington, Oregon, Nevada Arizona, Texas, anywhere in the USA it taste much better or allot better than any XXX or XXX. Its been a few years since I lived in Waikiki Hawaii, at that time there was no New York Pizza there then.
I like your website thank you for your emails
JP

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:32 am

    JP, you know you New York pizza and that is a fact. Thanks for your post.

Evangeline Navarone · November 23, 2014 at 9:59 am

“Respect the Craft”, a new study shows that people that eat pizza live longer. Is it true? I don’t know , but maybe it’s the want of this wonderful food, with endless topping possibilities and loved the world over , that keeps us hanging on for one more day. If that’s truly the case,I’m gonna be around a very long time.

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:34 am

    Evangeline: It’s true! Thanks so much for your excellent advice. All pizza lovers can look forward to triple digit birthdays! Great study!

Ron Litchfield · November 23, 2014 at 10:15 am

Excellent book!! I make pizza 7 days a week, yet have picked up several tips and ideas….. but the book would also be great for the home beginner… as an outstanding trainer Tony goes into detail that any first timer will understand…. Respect the Craft!!

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:35 am

    Ron, you are correct. As I went through this book, I felt as though I was at a Master Class being taught by Tony! Thanks for your post.

Reuben Ware · November 23, 2014 at 11:11 am

Respect the Craft. After I found your website years ago I quit looking for any other site for pizza. Thanks for all the great pizza.

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:36 am

    Reuben, I am very honored that you have been a supporter of Pizza Therapy and of pizza in general. Great post.

ENelms · November 23, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Tony,

Thanks for The Pizza Bible. I will always try to Respect the Craft as much as you do. Pizza is the Perfect Food!!!

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:37 am

    ENelms, you write true words. If you want to make great pizza you need to Respect the Craft.

Barbarainnc · November 23, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Nothing better than a good slice of pizza. I got to travel to Italy and ate pizza. Oh My Goodness!!!

“Respect the Craft”

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:42 am

    Barbarainnc you have had the real deal in Italy. It’s a different type of pizza I have found from pizza made in the USA. The great thing about The Pizza Bible is that Tony covers how to make great Italian Style pizza. After all, Tony won an award in Italy for his pizza making skills. He also covers several Italian style of pizza in his book. Thanks for sharing.

Rsndy · November 23, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Love the newsletter, hope to be able to review the Pizza Bible for myself 🙂

    Rsndy · November 23, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    “Respect the Craft”

D.M. · November 23, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Next year, early spring. I’m finally going to build my outdoor kitchen with brick oven. I’m going to get Tony’s book, cause you can’t know too much about apizza. I love New Haven pizza and sure miss it here in Florida.

Donna · November 23, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Pizza is my friend…respect the craft!

Brian · November 23, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Always looking for new ways to respect the craft.

Louis Mathis · November 23, 2014 at 2:38 pm

When you read Tony’s book you are really getting an education so you will be able to RESPECT THE CRAFT! Awesome book and ideas!

Nick · November 23, 2014 at 3:50 pm

With Respect the Craft and even with respect for the craft, this book sounds like a winner!

Davud R Hancock · November 23, 2014 at 4:06 pm

To respect the craft you have to live the craft. Thanks Tony for all you do for the craft of pizza.

Tony Lambert · November 23, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Respect the craft of pizza making! Love reading stuff on this site.

James Padgett · November 23, 2014 at 4:59 pm

“Respect the Craft” as with everything you do, these are words to live by.

Been making pretty good pizza for years. I used to watch the “pizza Gourmet” on TV years ago. Bought his book, then a pizza stone and peel… Been making pizza ever since.

Cheers to “Great Pizza” 🙂

Papa Don · November 23, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Albert, you have done more than anyone on earth to teach us about pizza, and to Respect the Craft. I have followed PIZZATHERAPY for a number of years, have learned alot and will continue to. Thanks for the thorough review of Tony’s book. I look forward to reading it!

Papa Don Andreatta, Florida

Gary Skardina · November 23, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Mastering making GREAT pizza is an enormous effort. I have a wood fire oven and gave taken AVPN lessons so I know! Tony has the utmost passion-the TRUE first requirement for excellent pizza. To make great pizza you must first Resoect The Craft!

G'ma Deb · November 23, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Oh my goodness…I absolutely “Respect the Craft!” I tried for years to make a homemade pizza that taste like a pizzeria but all I could do was make a bland biscuit tasting mess. Almost gave up my search until I came across the Pizza Therapy site. It was one of my best recipe discoveries. I can’t tell you how many pizza’s I have personally made since then. When my kid’s and their friends find out we are having pizza, they always ask, “are you making your awesome pizza?” No more bought pizza’s around here! In a hurry we bought a Maui Zaui pizza from XXX
and it was the biggest waste of $27 I have done in years. Dry, barely any cheese and overcooked toppings. Our dogs barely took a bite! Your pizza recipe outshines them all! Looking forward to reading the book! Thanks and Big Hugs from California!

Rich · November 23, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Albert, I ordered your book on Christmas Day 2011. By May 2012 we owned our pizza shop. We have worked hard ever since, but love it! We discovered Tony through you. I have watched and studied Tony’ YouTube videos and watched him on TV opening a shop in Vegas. He is amazing, and we have leaned do much from both of you. I say write this not win the book, but to thank you both. We are working to become the shop of choice in our neighborhood, this would not be possible without you folks being willing to share. Bless you both,
Rich & Louise

Molly · November 24, 2014 at 1:07 am

Hey Albert, was wondering if there’s anything in The Pizza Bible about Gluten-free pizza? It’s been years since my husband’s Celiac diagnosis and we’re still looking for the best GF crust recipe.

Always great to see more in the world about pizza. One of the things I think we all love about this site and you, Albert is that you always “Respect the Craft.” There are few more dedicated to quality pizza than you are, Mr. Grande.

    pizzatherapy · November 25, 2014 at 3:21 am

    Great question.
    I’ll quote Tony in the Pizza Bible:
    “I thought long and hard about including a gluten free dough recipe in this book but ultimately I opted not to because to make a decent one involves buying large quantities of several varieties of flour as well as gums and starches, which just isn’t practical for home cooks…I recommend Cup4Cup Pizza crust Mix. The addition of egg and olive oil…helps create a nice crust…”

Barbara Urban · November 24, 2014 at 3:10 am

Love pizza love pizza therapy I respect the craft of making pizza and pizza therapy hS helped me so much improve in this

Joe Landi · November 24, 2014 at 4:54 am

Albert,
I’ve come along way with my pizza making at home thanks to the knowledge I’ve gained from you. Now I look forward to reading Tony’s book to improve my craft! Thank you so much! And Respect the Craft.

Regards,
Joe

Susan · November 24, 2014 at 1:01 pm

It looks like a great book and I would love to win a cop. I grew up on homemade pizza in the 1950’s. Respect the craft!

Curtis Paulina · November 24, 2014 at 2:38 pm

“Respect the Craft”, love the Craft, live the Craft.
Albert thanks for all of your pizza knowledge over the years. I own The Pizza Therapy Pizza Book and just about every pizza book that you have ever recommended and I can’t wait to get this one.
“Pizza on Earth, Good Will to All”.

KPB · November 24, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Love it; Two types of pizza, Good pizza and Great pizza. Above all, respect the craft!

Regina · November 26, 2014 at 12:10 am

Respect the craft! Can’t wait!

Joe Barraco · November 26, 2014 at 1:23 pm

My wife was born in Naples, Italy, we grew-up in New Haven, CT, so my mandate has always been to respect the craft in making the best and most authentic pizza. After all, the song she loves says it best:
E mangiate ‘a pizza
‘a pizza, ‘a pizza
c’ ‘a pummarola ‘ncoppa
‘a pizza ‘nsieme a me!

Paul Ollson · November 26, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Albert,

Thanks for posting your awesome review! It gives me another reason to follow Tony, as if I needed another reason right? He not only “respect the craft”, he redefines it. I am challenged by the both of you always to improve and get better at making my wood-fired pizzas. Thanks for the love and inspiration…R-E-S-P-E-C-T the Craft!

Mark Hendrickson · December 1, 2014 at 4:15 am

Just a couple weeks ago went to Tony’s restaurant here, Pizza Rock, in downtown. If you have not eaten at one of the best pizza places that are consistently mentioned in the various lists of pizza places this is probably one of the best opportunities that you could take advantage of. Flights to Vegas are still cheap and there is lots to do in addition to eating at one of the best pizza restaurants in the country. This is not just one pizza place, but at least four real styles of pizza are offered. Tony has four different ovens to produce the various styles of pizza.

Take a look at: http://www.pizzarocklasvegas.com/

Respect the Craft, and taste the pizza.

Renee · December 2, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Great book, thanks!! We eat pizza at least twice a week. Question: do you have a recipe or advise against cooking a pizza in a cast iron skillet?

    Renee · December 2, 2014 at 11:27 pm

    “Respect the craft”. It is an art.

Rachel Guam · December 15, 2014 at 10:28 am

I am still learning to make good pizza and my family members just love eating them. It is about the passion of making good pizza to share and to enjoy and to “Respect the Craft”! for the many years to come.

Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEnglish